so much unraveling

I’m glad to link up with Kat and Friends to see what everyone’s making and reading this week. Thanks for hosting, Kat! Here we go:

part i {the yarn}

Oh my God. The unraveling! It was a Ramen Party this week, friends.

No pictures. I was too hot and bothered.

Non-knitters: ‘undone’ knitting looks like a pile of kinky ramen noodles.

This lovely lightweight striped shawl is killing me. (It’s me. Not the yarn. Not the pattern. Not the needles. Me.) It couldn’t get any easier, a simple garter stitch with asymmetrically decreasing ends. Trouble is, I drop stitches all.the.time. I’m not sure why. Slippery, maybe? Softball? S0mething.

Regardless of why, I drop a stitch. And by the time I notice — down…down…down the ladder it goes.

Garter stitches are no fun to pick up. I get how it’s done. But making it happen…? I pine for stockinette.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: The knitting class I really want is a Knit Doctor class. (More like Triage?!) A one-session class where you learn to fix your own mistakes. I’d be first to sign up.

So I ripped out and redid a few times this week. I nearly ripped the whole thing! (But I didn’t.) I’m back on the needles, and I do love this yarn…the colors…the fabric that’s working up. I know I’ll enjoy wearing it, homespun-y mistakes and all. Eventually.


part ii {the yarns}

My reading this week was what I’d call thoughtful…thought provoking…and lighter. A nice combination.

I might be the last person I know to have read Lessons in Chemistry, by Bonnie Garmus. (A lag that’s often by design… When all I hear is yougottareadthis! and you’regonnaloveit!, that’s often my cue to wait. Not always — but often. So I can trust my own response.

I did love this one.

(If you haven’t read it, the summary’s here.)

I liked all the people I was supposed to like and eventually like…and, of course, I despised the wicked sleazeballs. Elizabeth Zott’s dog, Six-Thirty, was my favorite character. (And everyone else’s, too, I suspect!?)

The audio was well narrated, with a bonus was author interview at the end of the book. Bonnie Garmus wrote her bestselling debut at 62 (after being rejected by 98 literary agents); it was published when she was 64; she’s now 67 and a second novel is well underway (yay). The era of her own coming of age, as well as her mother’s, in comparison, gives credence to this mid-20th century novel of a scientist fighting to do science.

For me, the book didn’t miss a beat. I felt engaged, connected, entertained, P.O.ed, and proud. If you read it, what’d you think? Have you watched the made-for-Apple TV version? (I don’t have Apple TV. But I’m not sure I’d watch, anyway.)


And a perennial favorite…Anne Lamott’s twentieth book, Somehow: Thoughts on Love.

I’ve listened to enough Anne Lamott that even when I read a hard copy, she narrates the book in my head. (Best of both worlds.)

Somehow matches her previous non-fiction volumes about the delicacy and resiliency of her human be-ing, with her characteristic vulnerability, tenderness, faith, experience, and self-deprecating humor. (She had a line in Grace (Eventually) about her triceps that makes me laugh a little each time I glimpse mine when they’re, we’ll say, relaxed.)

Among other stories of friendship, rough relationships, community, and recovery, she shares a public mistake she made and the no-way-out-but-through of it. (You might wince.) We also get glimpses of Neal (m. 2019). For longtime readers, it’s pretty neat to hear from her within the context of her companionable marriage.

Another thing about Somehow? It’s dedicated to the author’s teenage grandson. Lots of this book is stuff she wants to be sure to tell him. Things she wants him to know when she’s not here to tell him herself, which I don’t even want to think about. But listen to her and what she says about aging at the end of this 7-minute clip, recorded the day before her 70th birthday:

It’s a lucky world that has Anne Lamott in it.


What are you making this week, making of any kind? Food? Music? Decisions? Plans?

8 thoughts on “so much unraveling

Add yours

  1. I have seen the Apple TV series and I thought it was excellent. They made some changes that I think improve the story. Just offering my opinion in case you wanted to do an Apple TV trial and give it a try!

    Like

  2. I’m another who ‘waits a while’ before reading ‘bestsellers’. That while often turns into years but I usually get there in the end – and often wonder what all the fuss was about. I’m not into adaptions for big/little screens either…..apart from Pride and Prejudice. Always interesting to see who’s going to be emerging from the lake😊

    Like

  3. I often feel that I am the last one to read a lot of books but each in its own time. I am a big Anne Lamott fan and read that book as soon as it came out. That was one messy mistake she made. A stitch doctor class would be amazing!

    Like

  4. I did try to read “Chemistry” but didn’t like it at all…it annoyed me!! Oh well, different strokes for different folks. Anne Lamott is another story. My friend sent me a link to her “essay” on turning 70 and I loved that. I have a book or two of hers upstairs…need to pull those out.

    Like

  5. The thing that happened with her advisor very near the beginning of Lessons in Chemistry turned me off completely. I finished the book and the premise was a good one, but I think that because it was marketed as humor and “laugh out loud funny” I was disturbed. (Six-thirty was great!)

    When I was having difficulty fixing dropped stitches in garter stitch, lots of people recommended Fix- A-Stitch: https://shorturl.at/9vvry I wasn’t sure how these would be better at fixing dropped stitches than a crochet hook but they are. Maybe it’s the direction of the hook or something but they worked for me!

    Like

  6. I have not read Lessons in Chemistry (I think the cover what put me off) but I did watch the Apple TV series (not that that counts, but yes I loved 6:30!!!)

    I hear you on fixing dropped stitches in garter… My best advice (at least this is what works for me if the ladder is not LONG… if it is long, well all bets are off and unraveling is it, sigh) … anyways, I flip the fabric back and forth so I am always fixing a “knit stitch” cumbersome… yes, but if it is just 4 or 5 stitches, it gets the job done!

    Like

  7. I too loved Lessons in Chemistry. I am old enough to remember those bad old days, although I was stubborn (arrogant?) enough not to notice most of the misogyny. Re: mistakes in garter stitch. Have you tried a double-ended crochet hook? The hooks face opposite directions, thereby eliminating all that manipulation of a regular crochet hook. There is a set of 4 sizes available on Knitpicks.com: https://www.knitpicks.com/sunstruck-double-ended-crochet-hook-repair-set/p/86312

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑