three on thursday {fall in the garden}

First, thank you from Lincoln for your thoughtful comments and compliments last Thursday! He read them, with appreciation. (Three on Thursdays have always been his favorite posts.) (It was fun to include him in one!)

And today I have a totally different three. It’s fall garden questions today. Two I asked + answered…and one I’m asking you!

{one}

Q. When can I harvest milkweed seed pods for fall planting?

A. Now.

When I saw soft white fluff starting to fly, I figured it was time. Actually…just before the fluff flies is ideal. If you press the seam of a pod and it pops open, it’s ready; at this stage, it’s apparently easier to separate the seed from the silk. Unawares, I picked a pod that was wide open. I don’t mind giving these ‘late’ seeds a tug, because I only harvested one pod. It’d be tedious on a larger scale, though! (That fluff, also called floss, tends to…cling.)

For those of us in cold climates: we can plant seeds 1/4″ deep, in full sun, in October/November. Water well once after planting, then let nature take over. Winter will provide the cold and moisture necessary for germination.


    {two}

    Q. I’m naturalizing* daffodils in the section of lawn we’re letting reforest. Do I want to toss my bulbs in the air and plant them where they land? Or plant them in ‘drifts’? (Clustering them, but in irregular shapes in the grass — not in traditional flower beds.)

    A. The fun answer is toss them in the air and plant them where they land…of course! But I’m concerned about spotty sunlight. So I’ll do a hybrid this fall: toss 110 bulbs (above) within the boundary where I’m sure of the light. Come spring, I’ll note where I have more light to play with. Then…then…I’ll indulge in some extra-special bulbs. (Like these!)

    *Naturalizing means a few things here: unplanned, informal planting of bulbs directly into grass or lawn, versus beds; one catalog describes this look as ‘carefree abundance.’ Don’t you love that? If you go this route, make sure you plant where you won’t need to mow ’til 4-6 weeks after flowering. That’s June’ish, in my zone. Bulbs need their greens for photosynthesis–or you won’t get flowers the following year! Naturalizing also refers to what I call ‘bulbs having babies.’ Some varieties multiply, or naturalize, more readily than others. When it comes to any spring bulbs, I look for those marked specifically as ‘naturalizers.’


    {three}

    Q. Are you a fall mum person? If yes, do you plant or toss at the end of the season?

    I have this conversation (with myself) every time I buy a mum. Plant? Or compost? I used to plant, once I pulled them from our porch, because I couldn’t bear tossing a live perennial. (Is it like flushing a goldfish that’s still swimming?!) The thing with planting mums, though, is that if you want them to flower in the fall, you have to pinch the buds for weeks in summer. You can stop after 4th of July. But up ’til then, pinch. Or you’ll get blooming mums in summer (and they’ll be done by fall!).

    I tired of pinching. And I have three potted mums that bring me joy every time I look out my kitchen window.

    So, you know my answer!

    (I guess I got over it.)


    I can’t believe I’m saying this…but I’ll be back on Monday with September’s One Word Link Party up and ready…already(!?!). ‘Til then — xo

    9 thoughts on “three on thursday {fall in the garden}

    Add yours

    1. Re: the milkweed . . . I usually try to gather some seeds before the pods open so I can share them with friends. But I generally let them self-seed all over my garden, as the wind blows. That strategy has created a wonderful patchwork of blooming milkweed throughout my garden in a very pleasing way. Re: the mums . . . the ones that we buy in pots in the fall don’t generally transplant well (at all). They’re a different “type” (bred to be annuals) than the perennial mums. If you want mums in your garden, buy a perennial mum; if you want color on your porch, buy the ones in pots — and don’t feel bad about composting it at the end of the season. (And re: your dafs? Have fun. . . )

      Like

      1. I’m hoping this milkweed will self sow next year, as you described! (The garden in our new house doesn’t have any milkweed yet, so I snatched this pod from a public right of way. We do have goldenrod and asters, though—so it’s a start.)

        Like

    2. I have a couple of areas that I am planting some bulbs for naturalizing… but it is not a grassy area, so I am going for drifts (with crossed fingers that the squirrels don’t get many of them! Great advice here!

      Like

      1. There was a year I planted 90 tulips in the squirrels managed to take all but about 15 of them! Stinkers! I know there are deer resistant plants; I think we need squirrel resistant!!

        Like

    3. that looks like ‘carefree abundance’ all over and I LOVE it! We are enjoying the tail end of the marigolds in our fall pots … mums will be coming in early October.

      Like

    4. I’ve only just seen some mums out in the neighborhood, and my tomato plants are still producing, so it’s a weird time of year! I can’t wait to see the results of your daffodil planting in the spring (you will share, right?).

      Like

    Leave a comment

    Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

    Up ↑