sending out an s.o.s.

above: Penelope Unraveling Her Work at Night by Dora Wheeler Keith (1856-1940)

part i {the yarn}

I often think of Penelope when I unravel a lot of yarn — and it’s especially comical this week, since Troy’s out of town… (Fans of The Odyssey, or anyone who remembers it, know what I mean.

Where to begin?

How ’bout with that blooper I mentioned. That was my first unraveling.

The shortest version: I just…kept…going…for 23″ in garter rib and left no armholes on the front of the sweater. (Audrey suggested a short poncho, instead? For her brother. It’d also make a fine knitted dickey. Which is just what it’d have looked like, had I continued.) Anyway, that was an easy fix. It made a fine pile of yarn to wind, but no biggie.

The troubles came Monday night, after accounting for arms and reaching the neck.

Now, I’ll admit it’s been a hot minute since I’ve made a sweater. (7 years?) But I’ve never struggled [this much] reading the pattern. With my stitches, sure. But not the pattern.

In fact one thing I love about knitting is that, most of the time, as long as I keep putting one foot in front of the other without overthinking, it all works outs in the end. Even if I can’t wrap my head around it at the time? Just follow the pattern, Carolyn.

And that almost always works.

Except when it doesn’t. Which leads to my second and third unravelings… Knitters who know what they’re doing, consider this an SOS!

The back neckline went just fine. I bound off in the middle of the row and decreased at the neck edge, no problem.

The front neckline’s a different story:

At first, I thought my only problem was whether to do those 6/4/3 bind-off stitches every row, or every RS row. I tried both. Unraveled both. Because…

No matter what I did, I ended up with a ‘floating’ active stitch still on my needle, with the bind-offs behind it and nowhere for that lone stitch to go. (I think of that stitch as the bind-off ‘anchor.’)

The only thought I had — tired, on cold meds, and unraveled myself — was, perhaps, to bind off those 6/4/3 stitches and break my yarn each time? Like, commit. Full stop. Bind. Off.

But I’ve never knit a neckline that way. And if I’m [most likely] wrong, what a mess that would be.

Does anyone have sage advice?


part ii {the yarns}

Reminder: I’ve let got of star rating; when choosing a book for myself, it’s simply too subjective and often misguides me. I’m sure you can glean plenty just from my take on each book. And if you’ve read any of these, I’d love to hear! It’s most fun to discuss when we differ as readers, I think….


I’m so glad I stuck with The Rabbit Hutch.

I almost set it down.

(I’d just finished The Book of Goose, which was excellent…but not what you’d call uplifting! And The Rabbit Hutch has a dark start, itself. And I didn’t want dark.)

A voice in my head said Read it anyway.

Tess Gunty’s smart, layered debut novel won the 2022 National Book Award (+ more). While there’s no arguing it’s a dark premise with troubled, complicated characters, there are enough absurdities to keep reality at bay and the book, entertaining. It could almost read as interconnected stories — and initially requires attention to keep everyone straight. (I wasn’t sure whose story it was, at first. In a way, it belongs to more than one of them.)

From Goodreads, abbreviated: Blandine isn’t like the other residents of her building: An online obituary writer. A young mother with a dark secret. A woman waging a solo campaign against rodents — neighbors, separated only by the thin walls of a low-cost housing complex in the once bustling industrial center of Vacca Vale, Indiana.

[Beautiful, intelligent, high school dropout] Blandine shares her apartment with three teenage boys [who, like her, have aged out of foster care–which repeatedly failed them anyway].

…[C]ulminating in a bizarre act of violence that finally changes everything, The Rabbit Hutch is a savagely beautiful and bitingly funny snapshot of contemporary America, a gorgeous and provocative tale of loneliness and longing, entrapment and, ultimately, freedom.

Every blurb I’ve read leaves out some of the most interesting characters. (It’s impossible to squeeze them all in.) Elsie Blitz, for example, former child celebrity who dies in her 80s, leaves behind an estranged and angry 50-something son (a more absurd character in the book). She writes her own obituary–and if you ask me, the book is worth the read just for that chapter! (Excerpted here, in Granta.)

Which leads to another great element: format. I love when an author’s creativity spills over from straight text — which happens a lot here. Gunty plays with chapter length; she includes lists, internet commentary, emojis, online obituaries, and drawings. While The Rabbit Hutch is entirely ‘listenable,’ you have more to gain from holding this one in your hands.


I couldn’t do much last week, besides read and try to sleep, so I finally finished Bel Canto (my bedtime book), and I read some just-for-fun suspense. Mini takes on those:

Ann Patchett based her fourth novel, Bel Canto (2001), on a 1996 terrorist takeover of the Japanese embassy in Lima, Peru. It’s very good reading but not a page-turner for me, so it took a while to finish as a ‘before bed book.’ Full of curiosity, compassion, love, loss, and risk, Bel Canto makes a great case for breaking down barriers and what we think we know about others, especially when we only see them as part of a group. It’s an unlikely beautiful portrait of humanity.

Fredrik Backman’s Anxious People and Liane Moriarty’s Nine Perfect Strangers came to mind at the start. (Two other novels, in recent memory, based on holding hostages.) While I’m an avid reader of all three of these authors, Patchett’s comes out on top for me.

Sick days served for page-turning entertainment: Alice Feeney’s Rock, Paper, Scissors and Freida McFadden’s The Housemaid were at once fun, a-light-kind-of-dark, and suspenseful.

I’ve not read much psych-suspense, so I had to remind myself that occasional corny dialogue and unlikely set-ups are part of the package here. While I’m not sure I’ll read more Alice Feeney (maybe?), I’ll definitely follow up with the second in McFadden’s Housemaid series.

Having heard so much good about Nathan Hill’s Wellness, I’ve just started his 2016 debut novel, The Nix, and I find it fantastically entertaining on audio. (Long!) (Should serve well for travel.)

And…that’s a Wednesday wrap! Thank you, Kat, for the chance to link, share, and see what everyone’s up to.


What are you making…thinking about making…reading…or otherwise?

16 thoughts on “sending out an s.o.s.

Add yours

  1. You are right the pattern doesn’t make sense. On the knit rows I’d decrease the second half of stitches, then on the purl rows the other ones. If you’re making the first size

    Like

    1. That makes sense to me–thank you. Like I told Bonny, if worse comes to worse, I’ll have to figure out a way to fudge it. Which I think I can do. I just hate to do that with a front neckline! And it seems that there should be a reasonable explanation. Hopefully I’ll have good news to share in the next week or two :).

      Like

  2. I wish I had some sage advice but I’m afraid I don’t. Are there any pattern errata? Can you ask for help in a ravelry group, or from others who have knitted the sweater? Now that you’ve got armholes it would be a shame not to have a neckline. 🙂

    You’ve intrigued me with Rabbit Hutch; I’m off to try and place a hold!

    Like

    1. No errata…and one knitter who marveled over the clarity of the pattern! So I sent her an email. As well as the designer. We’ll see. I could probably work up some sort of solution–but, sheesh, the front neckline isn’t really where I want to go out on a limb! Fingers crossed 🙂 I’ll be curious what you think of The Rabbit Hutch. (I always appreciate a book that pushes my edges a bit. And this one did that.)

      Like

  3. I know one of our amazing knitting friends will be able to help. My reading mojo has gone wonky of late but I picked up The Lion, the witch, and the wardrobe and have tumble headlong into this wonderful story.

    Like

    1. I’m always grateful to those books that get our reading mojo back! Glad you found yours. For me, it was Where the Crawdads Sing. Sometimes you just need something that tips your scales, y’know?!

      Like

  4. Bel Canto is one of my favorite novels. For me, it was about the universal ability of music to bind us together and heal our souls. Svice.orry, no advice onthe sweater dilemma, but others have offered good advice. The Rabbit Hutch is going on my request list to the library.

    Like

    1. Bel Canto would make a great book club discussion, I think. I’ll be curious what you think of The Rabbit Hutch. As I said to Bonny, it nudged me past the edges of my box a little bit — which is always good for me.

      Like

  5. I think the sweater instructions are correct but incomplete. To work the decreases at the neck edge, you’re going to have to work those BOs on the RS for one side and on the WS for the other. I think it would actually be easier to work each side separately so you don’t get all mixed up. If you need more specific help, I’ll be happy to go through it with you step by step.

    Bel Canto is still one of my favorites from Ann Patchett. I have such a strong memory of reading it the first time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES to knitting the two sides of the neck separately. I think it’s helpful to know that the neck-edge bindoffs ALWAYS happen at the beginning of a row. So the right side of the neck (as you wear the sweater) bindoffs happen on a RS row, and the left side bindoffs happen on a WS row. I write out the row numbers before I start the shaping so I can keep up where I’m at without having to remember. and ditto Sarah’s offer for more help.

      Like

      1. What you said, Mary, is so much clearer and makes so much more sense to me than the way the pattern is written. THANK YOU! As I said to Sarah, I had a hunch about knitting up the two sides separately–but after all the ripping I’d done already, I didn’t have the confidence to try. I’m taking the sleeves to Denver and will reapproach the neck when I get back. I will try to think through clearly, plan, and I just might raise my hand with a question for you! (You taught knitting at your LYS? Or did I make that up? Lucky students…) ♥

        Liked by 1 person

    2. That crossed my mind–and then I was afraid to end up ripping out TWO sides, so hesitated. Thank you–so very much–for taking the time to think through this and shed light! I’m going to take my sleeves and hopefully finish them while traveling; I’ll take a deep breath and settle in with this plan later next week…and I very well might reach out! Thank you again.

      Like

  6. If you still are in need of help on that front/arms/neck… you have my number, we could FaceTime and work through it together. I think once you get started, it will make more sense. You are in essence, knitting each front shoulder separately…at the same time! It sounds crazy, but it works!

    I thought Bel Canto was a great novel… and so discuss-able!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑