bubble gum, bubble gum in a dish…

Can I file an extension?! I’m so close to a book finish, and my yarn order’s almost here!

Next week, I guess.

Meanwhile, let’s check in with Kat for the week’s Unravelings —

part i {making}

On Saturday, Elsa and I had a delightful time at our local coffee shop with each other, our journals, and stitching. She practiced her half double crochet for a beginner’s hat; I caught up on my long stitching and admired all the handmades on consignment. Artisan sourdough loaves, screen printed tees and bags, seasonal handknits, honey, jewelry, paintings.

As for the yarn, we’ve got 5 games left in Linc’s JV basketball season, then varsity play-offs begin. I have 2- 3/4 skeins to go on my throw. If our team makes it to the top, I should finish the same time they do! Cheering hard here.

And a virtual hug + thanks go to Mary for eliminating all my excuses. Just as I started ‘yarn stalling’ for Elsa’s cropped cardigan, she took out the guess work and recommended Berroco Remix Light for its light weight and easy wear. (Choosing yarn delays a start for me by weeks. Sometimes, months!)

Elsa nixed her original ‘tweedy oatmeal’ in favor of Berroco’s new Bubble Gum. (Hence today’s banner.) That sounds more like it, doesn’t it? Bubble gum over oatmeal. She’s 12, after all.

I hope to be back with a gauge swatch next week.

This is a good time to stop and say how grateful I am for the kind, creative, smart, and thoughtful friends I've met here in Blogland. What a special thing, to care for and be cared for by authentic people whose intention it is to expand...to connect with and learn from one another. 

part ii {reading}

When we were still new at our UU church in Golden, Colorado, our then-associate minister said something like this: We’re not in the business of guilt. If you’re moved to connect [with God or Spirit] on a mountain, in a stream, or among the trees, then you ARE ‘at church‘ —

— and I knew we were in the right place.

That’s kind of how I felt reading Rooted: Life at the Crossroads of Science, Nature, and Spirit.

Lyanda Lynn Haupt is an award-winning writer, naturalist, speaker, and ecophilosopher who lives in Seattle with a starling named Carmen. In her sixth book, Haupt decenters humankind and calls us to [be] in concert with the wilderness. The chapters each have one word titles — which I loved, of course, and can’t resist listing them here: Listen, Shed, Wander, Immerse, Alone, Unsee, Related, Speak, Grow, Create, Spiral.

(It was Alone, in fact, that got me back on the trail, which I wrote about on Monday.)

Every chapter, save for one toward the end, gleaned copious book flags and notes. And that one? It could’ve been me. Wrong timing. Tired or distracted. Or just not particularly resonant. One — out of 11

Haupt introduces the book with memories of presiding over ‘frog church’ after she read Story of a Soul by Saint Thérèse of Lisieux — as a fourth grader! She goes on to reassure the reader that this is not a book about organized religion, though religious readers may find much to appreciate and at the same time, she loops in what I think of as ‘The Big 3″ — nature mystics Julian of Norwich, Hildegard of Bingen, and Francis of Assisi. Rooted offers a sense of space…for readers of any path, not just one.

After chapters on wandering vs. walking…benefits of being barefoot…hope as something that ‘allows brokenness and beauty to intertwine’…designating a space where you become a part of your surroundings…darkness as restoration + refuge…Rooted ends, naturally, with the author looking ahead.

In ‘Spiral,’ she acknowledges ‘essential death.’ This brief chapter, practical and ideal at the same time, is well worth the entire book. Haupt anticipates her own eventual end — acknowledging it’s still a struggle for her: All of this is an attempt at a reckoning with the end of my own life, the constant presence of an inevitability I am as yet unable to fully brook. She shares, in detail, what she’s doing now, at 53, for later: a few guidelines for her husband. Green burial research. The dress she’s hand stitching for when the time comes.

Rooted was just the thing for my return to spiritual reading in morning. (Only thing is, it set the bar high!) If you read it, or if you’ve read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.


And this one’ll be a quickie, ’cause I feel like I’ve used up my word count:

From the publisher: It’s December twenty-second and siblings Henry, Kate, and Martin have converged with their spouses on Henry’s house in upstate New York. This is the first Christmas the siblings are without their mother, the first not at their mother’s Florida house. Over the course of the next three days, old resentments and instabilities arise as the siblings, with a gaggle of children afoot, attempt to perform familiar rituals, while also trying to decide what to do with their mother’s house, their sole inheritance. As tensions rise, the whole group is forced to come together unexpectedly when a local mother and daughter need help. 

From me: I downloaded this in search of an ‘easy listen’ while cleaning our house. I’d just finished listening to Wellness, and, turned out, this was [sort of] a small slice of that. Wellness, Ultra Lite…? Clocking in at 6-hrs (less, at 1.5x), it chimed in with the middle-aged experience of raising children, the transition of aging/lost parents, work and life (dis)satisfaction — with a ‘lost person twist’ toward the end. Other than an at-risk child and maybe her social worker (who was also one of the in-laws), I didn’t really care about any of the other characters. Possibly because there were lots of them? And this was not a long book…

Flight felt like it could’ve aired on the Lifetime Television cable network. Or maybe it’d come on after Party of Five? Which is fine. It was suitable. But I think it was just that.


What are you making these days? Any kind of making! Plans? Decisions? Something yummy to eat? Any reading recommendations?

23 thoughts on “bubble gum, bubble gum in a dish…

Add yours

  1. ‘Rooted’ sounds amazing. I have spent the year reading on several saints, and my how far the church has travel away from these great mystics.Saint Thérèse of Lisieux , Francis, Benedict, Teresa, so many…. Thanks for recommendation.

    Like

    1. I think that’s one of the hardest parts about ‘capital-C Church’ 😦
      And it sounds like a wonderful year of reading, that’s for sure! I’d love to hear which ones resonated most, if you care to share.

      Like

      1. I would have to say Benedict and his Rule. I have read a lot on Benedict and the era he lived in and how the Rule came to be, I especially enjoy present day female authors writings on Benedict: Joan Chittister, Ester DeWaal, Kathrine Norris are authors I always look for. Their is a Benedictine Abby (female) here in N.Colorado that I visit often.

        Like

      2. I wish we were chatting over a cup of something right now! I’m a big fan of Sister Joan’s. (Grateful to have heard her speak in person last summer.) Where in N. CO are you? Last year, we moved back to Western New York after 23 years in Olde Town Arvada. The last few years before moving, I took silent retreats at Sacred Heart Jesuit Retreat Center in Sedalia. (I highly recommend it.) Where is the Benedictine Abby?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rooted does sound amazing! Thank you so much for sharing! And I love the idea that your crochet blanket could be finished if Linc’s team makes it to the play-offs! (I will be cheering here as well!) I love the yarn for Elsa’s cardigan! Perfect choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I got my hands on a copy of Rooted and am looking forward to reading it next month. Her other books are also on my library list now. So happy you settled on some yarn and that stitching piece is just wonderful.

    Like

  4. It has been a very unsettled week. Not much “making” has been going on. When that happens my go-to is my scrappy blanket. In a mind racing with too much static, the blanket doesn’t take much brain space.

    Like

    1. I hope everything’s okay with you and yours. (The wider world is unsettled enough as it is; hard to have outer and inner turmoil.) I must say, I’ve loved having a ‘mindless’ project to work on. I might need to find another once my mountain throw is done. Wishing you a peaceful heart.

      Like

  5. I had to look up the “bubblegum in a dish” reference; it wasn’t one I’m familiar with. But the yarn is appropriately named and I can imagine a 12-year-old choosing it. I hope it arrives soon and you can cast on. I think if I could find a coffeehouse with nice big windows like that, I might sit and knit/read there all the time. Even on gray days, a place with big windows seems so much lighter than my too-dark house!

    Like

    1. I’m with you — this time of year, I feel like I follow whatever light I can find! (Unfortunately, our kitchen is rather dark. And I spend a lot of time in there…)

      Like

  6. Would you say that Rooted is religious (and by that I mean Christian)? I am intrigued by it, but obviously if it’s tied to a religion that is not my own, it’s unlikely to be a good match for me. I do love the yarn that Elsa picked out for her sweater — it’ll be a fun pop of color and probably more enjoyable for you to knit than a neutral! I’m listening to Monsters by Claire Dederer right now, which is really fascinating. I’m a little sad that it’s only available from my library on audio because I know a lot is going by too quickly for me. Might be one I have to buy so I can highlight and annotate.

    Like

    1. Monsters is definitely one I’d need to put my eyes on. I’ve found that there’s very little non-fiction I can do on audio, aside from memoir or biography. This one might be a good one for both–hard copy and supporting audio.

      Re: Rooted… while Haupt was raised Catholic, she doesn’t speak to it much (that I recall) beyond her intro, when she says that, for her, one of the greatest gifts of her Catholic upbringing was learning “that something can be made sacred by the attention we grant it.” (Which immediately resonated.) I appreciate your question, as I am not Christian, though I was until my late 20s. ( don’t know if that makes it easier or harder…!). Haupt actually goes out of her way to express how *not religious* this book is, in the sense of any organized religion–or religion at all.) It’s true to its subtitle: a crossroads of science, nature, and spirit. In her bio, she describes herself as: writer, naturalist, mother, Audubon Master Birder, wildlife watcher, dirt worshiper, obsessive diarist, closet-poet, spinner and knitter, barefoot walker, woodland wanderer.

      Like

  7. Oh I like the color Elsa picked for her sweater and Remix Light is a nice yarn to knit with. Your coffee shop looks very nice. Like Bonny, I love the BIG window. I just requested Mozart’s Starling from my library (they do not have Rooted).

    Like

    1. I’d love to hear what you think of Mozart’s Starling! After finishing Rooted, I put it on my list for down the road…
      Does your library take purchase requests? I’m grateful that ours does. And even more grateful that they’ve purchased almost all of my suggestions!

      Like

      1. There have been some books I requested that my library then purchased…I have not kept track though. I’ll let you know what I think about “Starling” once I get it.

        Like

  8. The yarn for your daughter’s sweater looks perfect for a teen. Someday I’d like to try Remix. I noticed Mozart’s Starling in the comments. If I am not eavesdropping, I will chime in because I really enjoyed the book. I look at Starlings in a completely different way since reading it. I love the idea that you might finish your blanket while your son plays basketball championship games. Years ago, I pieced a quilt traveling to and from our son’s soccer games. Although it looks nothing like a soccer ball, I think of it as the “soccer quilt.”

    Like

    1. You’re the first person I’ve heard from who’s read Mozart’s Starling. I’m curious about Haupt’s angle as a naturalist, re: an invasive species. (I often find myself looking at two sides of a coin, when it comes to invasive species.) I’m so glad you chimed in!

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑