more + more delights {9}

anticipation.

The past few weeks I’ve been stalking daffodils, wandering the plot where I buried lots of bulbs last fall.

And they’re coming! They’re coming along.

(Some still yet to show. Those pinks I drove 90 miles to get? Waiting on those.)

Looking for sprouts among last fall’s leaves in the lot I’m letting…hoping it will?…reforest feels like an Easter egg hunt. Here’s one! …Found one!…Got one! Walking outside for the first time each day, I check, before anything else, if yesterday’s bulges are blooming yet. This one!


On the phone this week, a friend shared news of a big trip they’re planning. Big-big, we’re talking. And while that trip could come together sooner, they’ve scheduled out. Why? To enjoy the wait! The planning. The dreaming.

It reminded me of my college roommate, who got married some years after me. She still remembers my advice to enjoy every bit of engagement. Theat ‘lead-up’. And when she was pregnant, after rounds of IVF, to bask in that time of preparation, excitement, and care for her (which would soon shift, let’s face it!).

Must be the ephemerality of it all.

The hope…the dream…possibility of what awaits.

Can you beat it?!


Want to start a list with me? What would you add to Delight in the Anticipation of…

a trip. a new skein of yarn. a just-brewed first-of-the-morning cup of coffee. an unopened package. ______ ?

4 thoughts on “more + more delights {9}

Add yours

  1. A blogging friend shared a crochet circle “recipe” with me… I am anticipating giving it a try this weekend! 🙂

    And… I am hoping to see some Chickadee’s building a nest nearby!

    Like

  2. A real letter from a real person! Wrapped Christmas presents. Something delicious cooking for dinner, the aroma filling the whole house. Oh yes anticipation is wonderful.

    Like

  3. My big anticipation right now is getting to Florida! There’s so much prep work to do (packing, cleaning and laundry before I go, etc.), plus the anxiety about flying, that I know I’m going to feel like a huge weight has been lifted off me when we get there.

    Like

  4. What a lovely idea. It’s fun to see Spring blooms coming to life around the blogging community. Anticipation – opening the cover of a new to me book, purchasing a gourmet piece of chocolate, looking forward to a new knitting or spinning project . . . and of course any trips to see our children and grandchildren.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑