checking in {12.23}

It’s time!

We’re checking in with our words. The link party’s up and stays open through Tuesday, January 2. 

Join here. Let’s catch up!


Last year, I saved my hard work for last.

Not on purpose. It’s just…how it went.

(It happens.)

So this year, I promised myself:

excerpted from my ASK ’23 mindmap

I took my own advice. For much of the year, I asked those hard questions. (Even when I desperately wanted to lighten up, I found myself in deep work, you could say.)

I worked my word from both ends of the spectrum: with playful curiosity + wonder…What do 20,000 daffodils look like? What if I wanted to fly on a trapeze? Why does mechanical pencil lead always give me trouble? And with Big Hard Questions that took, often, a full month to answer.

These are my monthly takeaways (barely legible, I realize; full monthly reviews are under the ASK ’23 bar in my menu).

I often come out of a One Word year with numerous ‘keepers.’ and writing up a one-pager (or two halves, in this case) is the easiest way to see them. But when I look at 2023, ASK crystallizes in a singular takeaway that narrows down to a simple question:

What are you really trying to say, Carolyn?

Which seems awfully…basic.

Because it is.

Looking back, I know I muddy the waters by rationalizing, validating, or substantiating; talking around; trying to talk myself into or out of XYZ. As laborious as it was some months(!), ASK helped me build a muscle to be direct with myself. Hence the question, What are you really trying to say?

Just…tell it like it is.

What do I feel? What am I afraid of? What’s intimidating or frustrating or holding me back? What’s hopeful, enticing, exciting?

Looking back at what I’ve ASKed this year, I see answers that’ve taken me decades to reach. All variations on self-worth, purpose, and/or enoughness. The value of one word all year is that if you have trouble getting it the first time there are several more chances to drive it home. This year, I had at least six reminders that

I do myself no favors by playing small

I do myself no favors by sacrificing joy

I do myself no favor by should’ing on myself

And I believe I needed every single one.


Finally, it’s Pema Chödrön’s words from September that come back to me more than any other. You might remember —

Death is certain. Time of death is uncertain. So what is the most important thing?

So what is the most important thing? she asks.


ASK’23 is a simpler wrap than my last several words. (It seems I must be missing something even as I write this up!) I can safely say I’ve worked it consistently and deeply and made shifts in the last 12 months. It feels solid, needs no more belaboring, and that brings gratitude + satisfaction.

I’m ready to take up the new habits of ASK and set aside the ‘active work’ to make room for something new…

…My One Word ’24!

It’s a word that feels like a culmination of my last three. (A fact which only just struck me.) (But I see it so clearly now.)

I’ll be back in January to share it!


Thank you for being part of my year…for being on this One Word path together. Community and companionship have become synonymous with the practice — and they certainly make it a whole lot richer. I mean, I guess you could do it in a vacuum. But I wouldn’t want to. — ♥ C.

9 thoughts on “checking in {12.23}

Add yours

  1. This community of “Worder’s” might be the best part of the year… I have lost count of the times that something another person shared turned on a light, or opened a window for my word. It is really quite wondrous! I am excited to see everyone’s new word… and I am eager to read their “farewell” to this years word… I am sure I will find much there! XO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad to hear that you’ve come to a cumulative revelation of sorts with your word. I know that Ask has been really valuable to you this year, and I can’t wait to find out what next year’s word is! I will also thank you in advance for all the resources you share here. I’ve been thinking about next year but no word has presented itself just yet, so I have a little word work to do before the new year starts.

    Like

    1. I’m always happy when someone else finds my materials useful, even if it’s just a start—to tailor them to one’s own style or needs. I’ll be excited to hear where you land for ‘24!

      Like

  3. One of my favorite things about this practice (besides the sharing and learning together) is the gentle way it gives us what we need. I love that you found answers when you were brave enough to ask the questions. Looking forward to following along in 2024!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑