looking back {’23 in superlatives}

I almost didn’t get to this post this year. I got sick (again!) on the winter solstice, and it’s hung on longer than I care to say. With little to no oonph, I reserved my ‘pep,’ as my Gram called it, for time with my brother and Audrey. There wasn’t much to go around, and I missed out on a few things, but we had time together. And that’s what mattered.

They’ve both flown back West now. New Year’s Eve is upon us. And here’s a brief look back at some ’23 highlights for me…keeping it all on the positive end of the spectrum…in no particular order (and surely incomplete) (because who can remember everything?) —


Top road trip destination : : The Blue Ridge Parkway near Asheville, NC


Most eye-opening travel experience : : Learning that descendants of slaves still occupied the barren cabins of The McLeod Plantation into the 1990s. This was, without a doubt, the most worthwhile historic site we visited, in/near Charleston, SC.


Best decision : : to sing with the Chautauqua Choir and The Community Project this year. Three different choirs, in all. Inspiring directors and challenging music.


Favorite indie bookseller : : Pressed, in Erie, PA.

Funniest read : : Happy-Go-Lucky by David Sedaris

Favorite fiction read : : State of Wonder, by Ann Patchett (I think part of the reason this rose to the top for me was because this is a 2011 title. No buzz. Just getting lost in a story with no prior expectations.)

Favorite non-fiction read : :These Precious Days, by Ann Patchett (My notes say, To listen to hear read her own essays on audio is to fall in love with her.)

Favorite new-to-me author : : Min Jin Lee. (Pachinko, especially, is a story that keeps coming to mind.)


Best secondhand purchase : : A $25 blanket box with a little water damage. I’d been eyeing one at an antique store in town…for a few hundred dollars more. It lives at the end of our bed, serves its purpose, and I hardly notice the water damage anymore! (Too dark and early for a photo today.)


Best free find : : Elsa’s sewing table, set out for free (brand new!) at the end of a driveway, discovered by a friend when we were out for a walk.


Best signs : : At the dollar store in town; in Pennsylvania Amish country


Biggest project : : Reconfiguring the cottage. Still going.


Biggest surprise : : Participating in a ‘Blue-Red’ one-on-one conversation via the Braver Angels organization. Connecting, and genuinely enjoying, a meaningful conversation with someone who identifies differently than I do, politically — but with whom, we discovered, I have shared values around homelessness, immigration, education, and access to voting. Randy and I talked for hours and were sorry to hang up our calls.


Most moving moment(s) : : Returning to Colorado for Audrey’s graduation, hosted by dearest friends, and the chance to reunite with some of Audrey’s oldest and closest…especially her favorite teacher ever, Miss Little. Second grade.


Most enjoyable new skill : : Silk screening. (Though Elsa would say it’s that I finally learned how to French braid.)


Best new commitment : : Donating blood to the American Red Cross every 56 days, in honor of Troy’s friend + co-worker Crystal, who is now cancer-free after a diagnosis of Acute Myeloid Leukemia in April!


Simplest joy : : Pausing while driving or walking to appreciate where I live


Favorite picture : : It’s a toss-up between these donkeys in Virginia or at Christmas with Audrey. Apples + oranges, I know.


And that’s a ’23 wrap, in miniature! (It’s all I’ve got. I’m off to rest up for dinner + a movie this afternoon.)

I wish you a fine end to this year and a good start to the next. May it bring peace, adventures, and wellness. xo

4 thoughts on “looking back {’23 in superlatives}

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑