more + more delights {10}

Fridays are for Ross-colored glasses here. A lens of joy…what delights me this week…even if and when and though there’s plenty of woe in the world to be had.


A simple one this week:

I like my kids.

I’ve always loved them.

I don’t like everything they do all the time.

Or don’t do, as the case may be.

A few of their mistakes have nearly done me in. (I thought of three before I even finished that sentence.)

But it struck me [again] this week, as Troy left town [again], how much I like them.

I was remembering when his work travel amped up. I’m not sure what year, but we had three little kids. (Elsa was just out of diapers, I think? So maybe they were 2-,6-, and 10-‘ish) It was an exciting change for him, a role he was well-suited for — and very much deserved. When he asked me about the travel…how I felt… I said Absolutely, go for it. (Then I took a shower and cried.) (I was tired. And a little lost, which happens.)

It worked out fine. There were ups and downs, like with most decisions. Right? But we’re a good team. We figured it out. And a few years later, the work travel ebbed.

Then, as with everything else during the pandemic, it stopped altogether! Before starting up again…


When he left town on Tuesday — I love you. Good luck, I hope everything goes smoothly — it dawned on me that (barring a few teen-agey things), it’s ‘gone smoothly’ for a while now.

There are the basics, of course. (I’m not giving baths anymore. Everyone’s feeding themselves. No one wets the bed or spills on the floor at each meal.) We’re still very much parenting –certainly. But at 12 and 16 and a daughter who’s almost 20 and lives across the country) — well, it’s a whole different ballgame. This week, the three of us sat at the table for a half-hour after dinner, laughing so hard. Then I mentioned something (none of us remembers what, now) — and Lincoln said, That unlocks a whole room of nostalgia! And another half-hour, we sat.

When Elsa and I were home alone last night, we went our own pace. (We revel in that!) She commandeered my practice yarn and worked up some granny squares. I caught up on my temperature rows. We took a dinner break, chatted, and went back to it. Audrey sent pictures of the dinner she’d made with her boyfriend. Linc was in Buffalo watching a game and he did what I ask him to do! (Which is answer if I call or text; let me know when he leaves/goes somewhere else/plans change.)

They’re growing into their perfectly imperfect…or imperfectly perfect…selves. (Aren’t we all? Always?) Becoming their own neat people who I like to be around (most of the time). They’re kind (most of the time). Unique. And funny, all three. They stopped fighting, somewhere along the way. (Bonus.)

When thinking about delights this week? This one’s way up there.

(Remind me to reread this when one of those teen-agey things happens again.) (Because it will.) (Not before their dad gets home, hopefully.)


What are you delighting in today?

Wishing you happy weekending to you. I’ll see you with a One Word check-in on Monday. ♥

6 thoughts on “more + more delights {10}

Add yours

  1. Ross-colored glasses… brilliant! (Gosh, I love him so much!) This post, Carolyn… it is full of all the feels! Ah, yes, I remember those parenting days well… but for as challenging teenagers (or getting to be teenagers) can be, I remember so many dinners with so much laughter and some of the best discussions!! (And not as many of the days where I came to the realization of how utterly impossible teenagers can be… there were days, but the memories fade - I think my kids remember more of them than I do!)

    I love this little peek into your week! XO

    Like

  2. Oh gosh this brings it all back. Now my Boys are coping with their own teenagers..I offer a listening ear, tell them it’s a phase and will pass, remind them of the Good days.

    My delight today..sunshine and the garden!

    Like

  3. We should all look at life through Ross-colored glasses more often!

    I have to say that I am in a very similar place in my parenthood in that I suddenly find myself the mother of a young adult who is mostly self-sufficient and only needs me occasionally. It’s such a relief to not have all the demands on me, and it’s a treat to have a kid who can also be like a friend!

    Like

  4. I love the idea of Ross-colored glasses. Each stage of parenting has it’s joys and worries. I have to say I loved the late teenage and college aged stage. I continue to be amazed at how much I love them as adults. You have some good years ahead of you (not that the years when they are younger aren’t good because they are) but it just keeps getting better.

    Like

  5. When Stephen was young people would say he was cute or he was smart. Those things were always nice to hear, but as I told him …. those are things you don’t control. You were born looking the way you look and born with the mental abilities you have. You can enhance them but you didn’t CREATE them.

    Kindness ……………..that is ALL on you. YOU determine how kind, how helpful, how NICE you are. And he is. THAT is the talent that warms this mom’s heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑