something’s better than nothing?

First, a great big thank you for the supportive response to last week’s front neckline conundrum. Between technical help, offers for FaceTime, and general encouragement, I felt like the luckiest amateur knitter out there. So, I mean it. Sincerest thanks. ♥

Though it took a little longer, I also had an email from the designer. She was clear + concise…and while I wish the pattern had been as clear + concise, I appreciated her gracious reply! (I think the issue is that I’m not an ‘intuitive’ knitter. I do have a hunch when something’s wrong…or not quite right…but precise solutions are, well, less obvious to me!)

Onward — .

By that title something’s better than nothing, I’m referencing sleeves: I’d hoped to get through both so I could get back to finishing the front today. But with such efficient trains and planes…and a maybe a nap in the air…I’m just two-thirds of the way through one. (And surprised at how much yarn it’s taking! Turns out I wouldn’t have made it through both, anyway. I only brought two skeins of Swish.)

My goal was to block by Thanksgiving. With post-trip catch-up and a sick Elsa home from school (again), we’ll see what the balance of this week holds!


I’m also two-thirds of the way through The Nix, by Nathan Hill. And while I’ll save my full-length share ’til I finish, I will say:

I’m enjoying the change-up in voice, with a male primary character. (The majority of protagonists in my reading are women.) I felt the same way about Lincoln Highway and Demon Copperhead.

Ari Fliakos is officially a favorite narrator.

At 21+ hours of listening (750 pages), I’ve yet to yawn or get restless. (And I’ll admit I got a little restless, at times, with my last 21-hour listen.)

And with that, I better get down to business here.


Thanks, Kat, for the chance to link up and see what everyone’s making + reading this week. See you Friday… xo

5 thoughts on “something’s better than nothing?

Add yours

  1. Something (good) is better than nothing, and it sounds like you’ve got several good things – the front neckline resolved, progress on sleeves, and a good book to listen to while knitting. I also love Ari Fliakos and was so glad that he also narrated Wellness after The Nix. Here’s hoping that everyone in your house is healthy again soon and you find plenty of knitting (and maybe even blocking) time!

    Like

  2. That’s awesome that you got the neckline resolved. There have been times with patterns I read, re-read and then have to on a hunt in Ravelry to see if there are any project notes that address the issue I might be having. Enjoy your day.

    Like

  3. Sounds like things are back on track with the sweater — no doubt helped by a good book! I hope Elsa is feeling back to normal soon.

    Like

  4. I am so happy the designer helped you! (it is looking very much like a sweater!) May your week provide sufficient bits of time for the finish! XO

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑